hard.bargains

Mac Studio M3 Ultra (2025)

Sold since 2025 · 28-core CPU, 60-core GPU

Replaced by the Mac Studio M5 Ultra, $5,499 for 96GB, Apple list (Aug. 25); announced ship date Sept. 22. Source

Hard Bargains verdict

96GB Buy new. The used machine asks $1,275 more than a newer one with the same memory.

256GB Used, if price decides it: about $800 less. New buys 1.2TB/s against 819GB/s and a warranty.

512GB For 512GB, compare a verified used M3 Ultra with Apple's 512GB M5 Ultra configuration when its price and delivery are published; wait if your workload can.

From Which machine to buy for local AI above $4,000, updated Oct. 3, 2026

What it asks now

Typical ask, all configurations$7,455.85median · lowest single ask $721

Middle of the 120 used, refurbished and open-box listings in stock at their latest check through , from 5 stores. Asking prices, not completed sales; each configuration has its own figure below. Price tracker

The same 18 listings, Aug. 25 to Oct. 3
  • 13 asking less
  • 4 unchanged
  • 1 asking more

Each listing's last ask on or before Apple's Aug. 25 announcement against its latest. Together their asks fell 16.5%; the median listing dropped $625. Method

Choose a configuration

“From” means seen in stock in the last 72 hours. Typical: median ask, last 14 days.

ConfigurationUsed fromNew fromTypical used askFreshest checkWhat this memory runs
96GB · 1TB4 listings$4,699eBay · Oct. 8$5,499.99eBay · Oct. 9$5,166.99n=2Llama 3.3 70B needs 65.2GB to work

Where to buy 96GB · 1TB

Used from $4,699 · New from $5,499.99 · checked through Oct. 9, 03:27 UTC

Used, refurbished or open box

  • $4,699incl. stated shipping

    eBay · seller goroostr · Refurbished seller says “Excellent - Refurbished”

    In stock

    Open offer at eBay

    exact product

Erase it and walk Setup Assistant before you pay. An Activation Lock or Remote Management screen means someone else still controls the machine: walk away. The 10-minute checklist covers both locks, the fan, drive and ports, all free.

1 more fresh used, refurbished or open box offer
  • $5,634.98incl. stated shipping

    eBay · seller cocosprinkles · Open box

    In stock

    Open offer at eBay

    exact product

New

  • $5,499.99incl. stated shipping

    eBay · seller macreserve · New seller says “Brand New”

    In stock

    Open offer at eBay

    exact product

1 more fresh new offer
  • $5,686.99shipping not stated

    CDW · seller CDW · New

    In stock

    Open offer at CDW

    exact product

Wait? Asks on this model fell 16.5% since Aug. 25 across 18 listings we saw on both sides; waiting is a real option.

New instead. Mac Studio M5 Ultra, $5,499 for 96GB, Apple list, ships Sept. 22. Apple store

Against its neighbours

M1 Ultra StudioM2 Ultra StudioM3 Ultra Studio
Used from, last 72 hours$3,810.9564GB · 2TBnone fresh$4,69996GB · 1TB
Typical ask, Oct. 3$4,434.64all configurations, n=56$3,957.99all configurations, n=56$7,455.85all configurations, n=120
Memory options64GB / 128GB64GB / 128GB / 192GB96GB / 256GB / 512GB
Memory ceiling128GB192GB512GB
Change since Aug. 25not trackednot tracked−16.5%
Hard Bargains verdictYes, read itYes, read itYes, read it
Jobs it servesbudget rung, local AIlocal AIbudget rung, local AI
All 4 current listings for this model

Every listing seen in stock in the last 14 days with a valid configuration, cheapest fresh first within each configuration. eBay item rows expire after 72 hours; older rows from other sellers may be gone. Amazon rows carry no price here. 8 older listings not re-checked in 14 days are left out.

ConfigurationPriceConditionStoreCheckedLink
96GB · 1TB$4,699incl. stated shippingRefurbished “Excellent - Refurbished”eBay · goroostrOct. 8Open
96GB · 1TB$5,499.99incl. stated shippingNew “Brand New”eBay · macreserveOct. 9Open
96GB · 1TB$5,634.98incl. stated shippingOpen boxeBay · cocosprinklesOct. 8Open
96GB · 1TB$5,686.99shipping not statedNewCDW · CDWOct. 9Open

About the data: listings come from Hard Bargains' crawler, read without write access. A listing's price and stock are its latest observation. Asking prices are not completed sales; auctions, parts-only units and implausibly low captures are excluded.