Portable monitor stands: what your screen can actually attach to
One line on the maker's specification page decides which stands exist for your screen. Of seven screens read Sept. 17, one publishes a tripod socket, one publishes a VESA pattern and five publish neither.
Based on the makers’ published specifications, not our own hands-on testing.
Published
In this guide: 5 sections
Read one line on your screen’s specification page before you shop. A published 1/4-inch tripod socket opens every mini tripod and camera tripod. A published VESA pattern opens every monitor arm. Neither means a stand has to hold the panel by its edges — and the cover it shipped with may be the only mount its maker has documented.
The $0 routes · What your screen attaches to · Stands by attachment point · Pick by situation · What the bag gains · Choosing the screen itself
First, what you already own
The cover or kickstand it came with. All five Arzopa listings we read describe a built-in stand or kickstand, three of them stating portrait as well as landscape and the Z1RC a stand that supports portrait. Dell’s P1425 stand tilts 10 degrees to 90 degrees, adds 0.11 pounds (50 g) and takes the screen 16.5 degrees past vertical for portrait. On a desk that does not move, at a height you are not fighting, that is the whole answer and it costs nothing.
Height is usually the complaint, not attachment. If the screen is stable but too low, a book stack, a closed laptop or a riser you already own fixes it with no compatibility question, because nothing has to fit anything. A new 12-inch aluminum riser is $34.99 at VIVO, read Sept. 17, with a 12-by-8-inch platform adjustable between 4.5 and 6.5 inches. Try the book stack first.
A monitor arm already on your desk. A spare arm only helps if your screen publishes a VESA pattern. Among the screens below, only Dell’s P1425 does.
What your screen actually attaches to
Start at the specification the maker publishes, not at the stand.
| Screen | 1/4-inch tripod socket | VESA pattern | Weight the maker states | What it ships with |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Arzopa A1, 15.6-inch | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Integrated multi-angle stand |
| Arzopa Z1C, 16.1-inch | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Built-in kickstand, portrait and landscape |
| Arzopa Z1FC, black | Not stated | Not stated | 1.7 lb (771 g), scope not stated | Built-in stand, portrait and landscape; 0.3-inch panel |
| Arzopa Z1FC, gray | Not stated | Not stated | 1.7 lb (771 g), scope not stated | Built-in stand, portrait and landscape; sleeve included |
| Arzopa Z1RC, 16-inch | Not stated | Not stated | 1.7 lb (771 g), scope not stated | Stand supporting portrait |
| Dell Pro 14 Plus P1425 | Not stated | 100 x 100 | 1.25 lb (567 g) bare, 1.36 lb (617 g) with its stand | Stand, tilt 10° to 90°, portrait +16.5° |
| ASUS ZenScreen MB16FC | Yes — listed as 1/4" Tripod Socket : Yes |
Not stated | 0.9 kg (1.98 lb) net | Sleeve listed, no stand |
“Not stated” is the finding, not a gap we will fill later. None of the five Arzopa pages publishes a thread or a pattern, and the Z1C page carries no specification table at all, so an attachment point may exist on the hardware and remain undocumented — and an undocumented thread is not something to buy a stand against. No screen here documents both a thread and a pattern, so a stand bought for one will not serve the other.
Stands by attachment point
| Stand | Attaches by | Rated load | Height and reach | Price read Sept. 17 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Arzopa adjustable monitor stand | Padded cradle under the bottom edge; no thread or pattern needed | 2.5 kg (5.5 lb) | 26 to 39.5 cm (10.2 to 15.6 in), tilt 0° to 90° | $24.99, showing sold out (regular $36.99) |
| VIVO STAND-PM01A | Clamp on a panel 0 to 0.6 in thick, hung off a laptop 11 to 18.5 in | 2.2 lb (998 g) | Arm extends 6.9 to 11 in, rotates 225° | $24.99 (regular $29.99) |
| VIVO MOUNT-UVM02 | Spring clamp gripping 7.5 to 10.3 in, max depth 0.75 in; presents VESA 75x75 or 100x100 | 5.5 lb (2.5 kg) | Adds a pattern to a portable monitor up to 15.6 in | $24.99 (regular $29.99) |
| VIVO STAND-V001 | VESA 75x75 or 100x100; C-clamp or grommet, desks to 3.25 in | 22 lb (10 kg) | 17-in pole, 16-in reach, ±90° tilt, 360° rotation | $34.99 |
| Manfrotto PIXI, MTPIXI-B | 1/4-inch screw | 1 kg (2.2 lb) safety payload | Max height 13.5 cm (5.3 in); folds to 18.5 cm (7.3 in), 0.19 kg | No price displayed |
| Manfrotto PIXI EVO, MTPIXIEVO-BK | 1/4-inch screw | 2.5 kg (5.5 lb) safety payload | 10.5 to 20 cm (4.1 to 7.9 in); folds to 20.5 cm (8.1 in), 0.26 kg | No price displayed |
| VIVO STAND-V000S riser | Nothing — the screen sits on it | 33 lb (15 kg) | 4.5 to 6.5 in, platform 12 x 8 in | $34.99 |
The adapter class runs out before the screens do. A universal VESA holder is the usual answer for a screen with no pattern, and VIVO states the MOUNT-UVM02 fits portable monitors up to 15.6 inches and 0.75 inches thick. The 16.1-inch Arzopas are past that, and so is anything larger. If you own a 16-inch or 17-inch screen with no published attachment point, this route does not cover you and no arm will.
Leave payload margin. Manfrotto rates the PIXI at a 1 kg safety payload; an MB16FC weighs 0.9 kg. That is 0.1 kg of headroom, and a flat panel catches a draft in a way a compact camera does not. The two-section PIXI EVO is rated to 2.5 kg and reaches 20 cm instead of 13.5 cm for 70 g more.
Where these ship. Arzopa’s shipping policy names the United States, the United Kingdom, Europe, Canada, Australia, Japan, Brazil and Mexico. VIVO’s store region selector lists the United States and Canada. Manfrotto sells through regional stores. Outside those, price the class where you can actually receive it: portable monitor stands on Amazon opens search results, not any product named here.
Pick by situation
Packed travel, nothing extra in the bag. Keep the cover or kickstand. If your screen publishes a tripod socket and a kickstand will not get it high enough, the PIXI EVO folds to 20.5 cm (8.1 in) and weighs 0.26 kg (0.57 lb). Manfrotto displayed no price to us; the model number on Amazon opens search results. Keep-what-you-have alternative: the kickstand plus whatever is already on the desk.
Hotel or cafe desk, screen beside the laptop. The VIVO STAND-PM01A at $24.99 takes a panel 0 to 0.6 inches thick — a 0.3-inch Z1FC fits — and hangs it off a laptop VIVO lists as 11 to 18.5 inches, on an arm extending 6.9 to 11 inches. Its 2.2-pound rating leaves half a pound over a 1.7-pound Arzopa. VIVO does not state the holder’s own weight, so it is an unknown addition to the bag. Alternative: the kickstand at table height, which costs neck angle rather than function.
A home desk that packs away. Arzopa’s own stand cradles the bottom edge, so it needs neither thread nor pattern: 26 to 39.5 cm of height, 0 to 90 degrees of tilt, rated to 2.5 kg, $24.99 against a $36.99 regular price — and showing sold out when we read it. A cradle stand is the class to search for if it stays that way; the 12-inch VIVO riser at $34.99 was available the same day and needs no attachment point either. Alternative: a book stack under the kickstand.
A screen at eye height that stays put. This is the one situation that justifies an arm, and it requires a published VESA pattern. A 1.36-pound Dell P1425 on a VIVO STAND-V001 at $34.99 clamps to desks up to 3.25 inches thick, with a 17-inch pole, 16 inches of reach and 360 degrees of rotation; the 22-pound rating is 16 times the screen. It is desk furniture and does not travel.
Portrait. Dell states +16.5 degrees on its own stand. Arzopa’s Z1C and both Z1FC listings describe a built-in stand for portrait as well as landscape, the Z1RC’s stand is described as supporting portrait, and the V001 arm rotates 360 degrees. None of that rotates the picture — that is a display setting on the computer, and it is worth confirming inside the return window along with the rest of the setup.
What the bag actually gains
| Kit | Screen | Stand | Added to the bag |
|---|---|---|---|
| Arzopa Z1FC on its own kickstand | 1.7 lb (771 g) | none | 1.7 lb (771 g), $0 past the screen |
| Dell P1425 on its own stand | 1.25 lb (567 g) | 0.11 lb (50 g) | 1.36 lb (617 g), $0 past the screen |
| ASUS MB16FC and a PIXI EVO | 0.9 kg (1.98 lb) | 0.26 kg (0.57 lb) | 1.16 kg (2.56 lb); no tripod price displayed |
| ASUS MB16FC and a PIXI | 0.9 kg (1.98 lb) | 0.19 kg (0.42 lb) | 1.09 kg (2.4 lb), but 0.9 kg against a 1 kg rating |
| Arzopa Z1FC and a VIVO STAND-PM01A | 1.7 lb (771 g) | not stated | 1.7 lb plus an unstated holder, $24.99 |
| A VESA screen and a VIVO STAND-V001 | — | not stated | Not a travel kit: a 17-inch pole clamped to a desk |
Cables and the monitor’s power supply are not in that table; whether one cable will carry video and power decides those, and on battery the screen’s draw matters more than its weight.
Buy the cheapest thing that puts the screen where your eyes are. If the maker’s page states no attachment point, the honest options are a cradle, an edge clamp inside its stated thickness, or the cover you have already paid for.
Sources and dates
- Attachment specifications are the makers' own pages, read Sept. 17, 2026: Arzopa's A1, Z1C, Z1FC black, Z1FC gray and Z1RC product pages, Dell's Pro 14 Plus P1425 store page and ASUS's ZenScreen MB16FC technical specifications.
- None of the five Arzopa pages publishes a tripod thread or a VESA pattern, and the Z1C page, checked for one, carries no specification table, so those rows record what each page states in prose.
- Where a page publishes no figure this page says "not stated" rather than inferring one from a photo, a review or a third-party listing.
- Stand specifications and prices are the sellers' own store pages, read the same day, before tax and shipping: Arzopa's adjustable stand, VIVO's STAND-PM01A, MOUNT-UVM02, STAND-V001 and STAND-V000S, and Manfrotto's PIXI and PIXI EVO pages.
- Manfrotto's pages displayed no price, so no price is quoted for either tripod.
- Crossed-out regular prices are the sellers' own and do not establish a discount.
- Shipping regions come from Arzopa's shipping policy page, which names eight, and from VIVO's store, whose region selector lists the United States and Canada; its shipping policy page stated no international terms to us.
- Metric and imperial conversions are our arithmetic on the makers' figures.
- Amazon links open search results, not specific products, and no Amazon price, seller or stock appears on this page.
- Hard Bargains has not tested any of this hardware, and nothing here is a compatibility guarantee.